Skip to content



The Board of Commissioners is the governing body for Lake of the Woods County government and is composed of five members elected by district to serve over-lapping terms. New Board members take office on the first Monday in January in the year following their election.

Board Meetings:

The first meeting of the year, which is set by Minnesota Statutes, is the first Tuesday after the first Monday in January when various committee appointments are made, as well as the designation of the Board Chairman and Vice-Chairman which is voted on by the Board of County Commissioners.The regular meetings of the County Board of Commissioners takes place on the second and fourth Tuesdays of every month commencing at 9:00 a.m. in the Board room at the Lake of the Woods County Government Center.The Board room is the second door on your right as you enter the main front entrance to the Government Center.  If a scheduling conflict arises necessitating a change of meeting date or location, or when there is a need for a special meeting, the change will be posted at the Government Center, and when time allows will be published in the local newspaper and placed on this website.

The Board of County Commissioners must have a quorum present, which is a minimum of three members, in order to conduct a meeting and take official action. All Board actions must be approved by a majority of those voting members.

To Be Placed On The Agenda:

To place an item on the Agenda, please fill out the Request for Board Action Form below and contact the County Auditor. The deadline for being placed on the Agenda for an upcoming meeting is by 4:00 p.m. on the Thursday before the meeting. This is necessary because the Board Packets are mailed Fridays for the Tuesday meetings. 

Decorative Line
James "Buck" Nordlof
County Commissioner District 1
625 20th Ave NW | Baudette, MN 56623
Decorative Line
Cody Hasbargen
County Commissioner District 2
702 4th St NE | Baudette, MN 56623
Decorative Line
Joe Grund
County Commissioner District 3
4498 11th St SW | Baudette, MN 56623
Decorative Line
Jon Waibel
County Commissioner District 4
1097 22nd Ave NW | Baudette, MN 56623
Decorative Line
Edward Arnesen
County Commissioner District 5
6758 Rocky Point Rd NW | Roosevelt, MN 56673